R.I.P. John D. Loudermilk


We are saddened to learn of the passing of Nashville songwriter John D. Loudermilk, he was 82. He wrote songs that we’re covered by Eddie Cochran (“Sittin’ On the Balcony”), the Everly Brothers (“Torture”, “Ebony Eyes”), Johnny Cash (“Bad News”), Roy Orbison  (“I’ll Never Tell”), Paul Revere and the Raiders (“Indian Reservation”), Marianne Faithful (“This Little Bird”), and scores of others. His song “Break My Mind” has been covered by artists as diverse as Sammy Davis Jr., Glenn Campbell, Roy Orbison, The Flying Burrito Brothers, Jerry Lee Lewis,  the Box Tops, and Wreckless Eric. He best known song, “Tobacco Road, ” became a hit on both sides of the Atlantic for the Nashville Teens in 1964, and has since been covered hundreds of times.

48 Years Ago Today: The MC5 and the Stooges Sign With Elektra


History was made on September 22, 1968 when Elektra Records signed the MC5 and the Stooges. Danny Fields was responsible for brokering the deal and you can learn more about how he brought Detroit’s finest to the world as well as the rest of his amazing career in rock ‘n’ roll from the new documentary about his life, Danny Says.

L.A.M.F. Live – NYC, Nov.16


Yesterday, the Bowery Electric announced a special one night only performance of the classic Heartbreakers album L.A.M.F. on November 16 by an all-star lineup which features original Heartbreaker Walter Lure along with Clem Burke of Blondie, Tommy Stinson of the Replacements and Wayne Kramer of the MC5. Tickets are $20, and there will be two shows, at 8:00 and 10:00. This sounds like a real blast, and I wish I could be there myself, but we’ll see if we can get some pics direct from the scene when it happens.

Freaks Hall 2017 Election: Non-Performers


It’s time to begin our election for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Freaks Hall class of 2017. This year, we’ll be conducting our non-performer election first, and then in October, we’ll begin the balloting for our performer inductees.

For those not already familiar with the Freaks Hall, here is a quick explanation:

The Freaks Hall honors artists, groups and contributors who have not been recognized by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Commercial success and/or critical acclaim are not factors in choosing candidates or inductees. Rather, we seek to spotlight those people who embody the true spirit of rock ‘n’ roll in their recordings, performances, and in the lives they’ve lived. In fact, we often strive to recognize those who are not likely to ever be invited to one of the establishment’s made for TV galas – the forgotten heroes, the renegades, and the free spirits who have left a unique imprint on the history of rock ‘n’ roll.

In our previous three elections, we’ve inducted a total of six non-performers: Lester Bangs and John Peel in 2014, Kim Fowley and Joe Meek in 2015, and Shadow Morton and Greg Shaw in 2016.  For the class of 2017, we’ll be selecting two more from the list of nominees below.

HOW TO VOTE: Below is the list of our ten nominees. Select up to five (minimum of three) and send your ballot to rocknrollfreaks@gmail.com. The polls are open until Friday, September 30 at 8:00 PM EST. The top two vote getters will be inducted as part of our Freaks Hall class of 2017. 

2017 Freaks Hall Non-Performer Nominees: 

Rodney Bingenheimer (disc jockey, nightclub owner, Rodney on the ROQ, Rodney’s English Disco)

Harold Bronson & Richard Foos (Rhino Records)

Danny Fields (manager, publicist, journalist and author)

Lenny Kaye (rock journalist, Nuggets originator)

Miriam Linna & Billy Miller (Norton Records, Kicks Magazine)

Malcolm McLaren (manager, impresario)

Dewey Phillips (Memphis disc jockey, “Red, Hot & Blue”

Lillian Roxon (rock journalist, Lillian Roxon’s Rock Encyclopedia)

Paul Williams (editor of Crawdaddy, author)

Tom Wilson (record producer)